Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

whtmike2k

In The R Market, What's The Verdict?

6 posts in this topic

So I'm in the market for an S60R, and i've found one locally i like. 2004, 6 speed, 71k miles, looks pretty clean in the photos -

here's the kicker, it's only $12,500.

which to me seems like a pretty good deal.

so what's the verdict on these cars as far as cost to own and overall reliability? i know there's always an inherent risk in buying a private party used car. is this car going to put me in the shop monthly? make me go broke?

what are some things i should look for if i go check the car out, any standard tell-tale signs of neglect? what are typical services that should have been done to the car by 70k miles? what are things i'll have to do between 70k and 100k if i were to buy it?

i should add that i've been driving a subaru legacy for the past 4 years that hasn't failed me once or needed the first bit of work done by a mechanic, so i'm a little spoiled at this point :D

thanks in advance!

That's all an 04 with 70K miles is worth.

Someone came over with an 04 they wanted me to look at today.

77K miles, This thing was such a POS I wound up selling hime my 05 instead.

No bait and switch, this really was a pice of crap.

So your answer is beware, 04 s with these miles, (any R with these miles,) can be a dicey proposition without a SPOTLESS service record history (and some good luck)!

Do yourself a favor and stick with subaru (I'm sure most on this site will disagree)

2005 (wife wanted 2nd car) purchased w/42k over the internet Nov 08 from a Volvo dealer in MN (I was trying to convince her to get a WRX), was supposedly CPO but somehow it arrived and the horn didn't work, as well as the front passenger window. Original Pirelli's should've been replaced, they maybe had 30-40% thread left all around. Since then it needed the following (I'm sure I'm forgetting something):

tires all around

brake pads all around